Review: Serious Moonlight By Jenn Bennett

Image result for serious moonlight

Serious Moonlight follows Birdie Lindberg on a journey to find herself…and maybe love along the way. Growing up without socialization and under the scrutiny of her overprotective grandparents, Birdie has a lot to learn about life. Since her strict grandmother has passed away, her grandfather gives her more freedom: enter a brand new job at a dazzling hotel in downtown Seattle and adventures with her handsome coworker. 

Her first night on the job, she runs into fellow hotel employee Daniel Aoki. Only, she’s met him before at the Moonlight Diner and she may have already hooked up with him. 
The two quickly bond and discover a mystery at the hotel. A famous author, who hasn’t been seen in public, could be secretly meeting someone at their hotel. The two go on a quest to discover the writer’s identity, going undercover to track his steps and find out why he’s been going to the hotel. 

Honestly, Daniel and Birdie’s relationship wasn’t all that exciting, and it felt like their characters could have been better developed. As readers, we could tell they had chemistry— their banter was great— but something was lacking. It was like their relationship was almost there, but we couldn’t quite ship them together. Both characters had some soul searching to do through out the book, which led to a lot of miscommunication and unnecessary drama, detracting from their love story. 

The big mystery also felt like a let down. We won’t spoil it— you all can piece together the puzzle yourselves! However, the fact that Daniel knew the answer to the mystery all along and was just using Birdie was upsetting and, quite frankly, a huge let down. She should not have forgiven him so quickly! We prefer Bennett’s other YA books.

For fans of Alex, Approximately, Daniel is no Porter Roth!

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️/⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️


2 thoughts on “Review: Serious Moonlight By Jenn Bennett

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s