If You Liked That, Read This

If you’re like, you’re always looking for book recommendations! We created a list of recommendations based on some popular YA books. Let us know if you’ve read any of these and if you have some recommendations for us!

1. If you liked The Hunger Games, read The Testing

The Testing Trilogy (3 book series) Kindle Edition

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau is an underrated YA series, and is basically a more intellectual version of The Hunger Games. Cia and three other students in her region get chosen to compete for spots at University. In this dystopian future United States, a massive world war left most of the world in shambles. Only the brightest can help bring back the country.

Cia believes that if she doesn’t pass her tests, then she’ll go back to her normal life. However, once students start disappearing, she realizes the price for failure is a lot higher than she ever imagined. 

2. If you liked The Selection, read American Royals

Amazon.com: American Royals eBook: McGee, Katharine: Kindle Store

If you’re in dire need of a book about the royals, look no further. The Selection has become one of the most popular series in YA (we mean the original trilogy). American Royals asks what the country look like today if the United States had been a monarchy since George Washington took the throne? In fact, we’re currently read Majesty, book 2 in the American Royals series by Katharine McGee.

3. If you liked Anna and The French Kiss, read Paris, Modigliani and Me

Paris, Modigliani & Me: Kolosov, Jacqueline: 9781941311912: Amazon ...

Anna and The French Kiss is one of the most read YA romances. Plus, it’s set in Paris. There is no better location to fall in love! Paris, Modigliani and Me has the same kind of charm. We also love that it’s set during the summer in between high school and college. . Julie moves to Paris for the summer to be an au pair for her mother’s best friend’s daughter Genevieve. Genevieve, a fashionable and spunky 10 year old, helps Julie move forward and discovery the beauty of a new city. Plus, she gets to experience the world famous art scene.

4. If you liked One of Us is Lying, read A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

Karen McManus became a household name after one novel. She took the murder mystery world by storm when she wrote about five students entering detention, but only four making it out alive. A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder has a similar vibe. It’s addicting from the very beginning as Pippa tries to solve a case that happened five years ago. But, some people don’t want Pippa to know the truth and will do anything to keep their secrets hidden forever. Holly Jackson’s first YA is perfect for mystery fans.

5. If you liked The Secret Circle, read Serpent and Dove

Amazon.com: Serpent & Dove eBook: Mahurin, Shelby: Kindle Store

The Secret Circle focuses on a group of witches learning about their power in New Salem, MA.  Except, practicing magic may not be safe. Serpent and Dove is about witches and those who hunt them. Except, a witch and witch hunter are forced to get married. What could possibly go wrong? Shelby Mahurin’s 2019 novel became our favorite of the year. The sequel, Blood and Honey, releases this September!

6. If you liked the Gallagher Girls series, read the Raven Files series

The Raven Files (2 book series) Kindle Edition

The Gallagher Girls books were the OG YA spy novels! We loved following Cammie and her friends on their missions. Thank you Ally Carter for creating badass female characters! The Raven Files series is an elevated (read: slightly more mature) spy series. Both have swoon worthy romances and will keep you on your toes from start to finish! If you’re looking for your next spy read, this book is definitely for you.

7. If you liked Alex, Approximately, read The Unexpected Everything

Amazon.com: The Unexpected Everything eBook: Matson, Morgan ...

Searching for something to read this summer? Did Porter and Bailey inspire your own summer romance? Then you’ll have to meet Andie, the daughter of a politician who takes a summer job dog walking after a prestigious internship falls through. Little does she know that her unexpected summer will turn out to be perfect…and full of romance! This light-hearted summer YA is perfect to read outside in the sunshine.

8. If you liked the Vampire Academy series, read the Half-Blood series

Covenant series

The Vampire Academy series is about a group of teenage vampires and their protectors living at a boarding school. Naturally, murder and mayhem ensues. The Half-Blood series has a similar vibe in that it’s also set at a boarding school. Instead of dealing with vampires, though, live vicariously through Alex and her friends, descendants of Greek gods and goddesses. 

9. If you liked the Truly, Devious series, read the Trouble Is a Friend of Mine series

Trouble is a Friend of Mine: Tromly, Stephanie: 9780525428404 ...

The Truly, Devious series is one of our all-time fave mystery series. It’s got romance, suspense, and a killer (pun intended) murder plot. Trouble is a Friend of Mine has equally quirky protagonists, and is kind of like Sherlock Holmes. It’s hard to explain, but trust us when we say you should read the series! 

10. If you liked Tell Me Three Things, read First & Then

23310751

Tell Me Three Things is one of those YA contemporaries that has the perfect blend of romance and heart. It’s a great coming of age story! First & Then is loosely based on Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and tackles similar familial themes. Not to mention that it has an adorable romance! If you’re in the mood for a fluffy contemporary, definitely check it out. 

33 thoughts on “If You Liked That, Read This

  1. Great post! 😊

    It reminded me that I never actually finished the testing series. I read the first two in translation but then never got the third. When I get back to Belgium I should pick the books up and look for the third! 😅

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This blog post is awesome! I must say that leading off with the Testing series as a comp to the Hunger Games is awesome. I greatly enjoyed the Testing, and I would read it again!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I really enjoy lists like these. They help me discover new books that I might have otherwise missed. To be honest, I haven’t read most of the books listed here, other than The Hunger Games, but I will be making sure to check some of these out. Always on the lookout for new books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I read the first 2 books in THE TESTING series, but didn’t feel particularly motivated to read the third. A GOOD GIRL’S GUIDE TO MURDER though, is pretty high on my TBR. I’ve been hearing so much about it so I really want to read it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YA means Young Adult. While the exact definition is debated, we consider it a book with a protagonist between the ages of 14 and 22. It can overlap with MG on the younger side and NA on the older side. However, the writing style makes the difference. MG is usually middle school and lower. NA is typically erotica.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s