Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

We’re so excited for all the amazing YA books coming out in 2021! Not every cover has been released yet, so we will update the post when more information is available. Let us know which books you’re most excited for!

1. Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare

17699855. sy475

Chain of Gold was easily our favorite read of 2020. We can’t wait for Lucie, James, Matthew, Cordelia and the rest of the gang to take on a killer and keep London safe. Chain of Iron promises to be exciting, romantic and full of plot twists. March 2nd can’t come soon enough!

2. Westcott High #3 by Sarah Mello

We devoured the Westcott High books in 2020! The characters, romance, and plot twists had us addicted from the start, and we cannot wait to see what Sonny and the gang are up to in book 3. We need more of Sonny and Jacob ASAP! There is no official release date on Goodreads, but we are pretty sure we saw on Instagram that this book releases in February. 

3. Gods & Monsters by Shelby Mahurin

Amazon.com: Gods & Monsters (Serpent & Dove) (9780063038936): Mahurin,  Shelby: Books

There’s no description so far for the third book in the Serpent & Dove series. All we know is that Blood & Honey left on a major cliffhanger and we assume Mahurin will pick up where we left off with Lou, Reid and the rest of the group. Gods & Monsters should be released on August 3rd!

4. The Black Volume of the Dead by Cassandra Clare

Magnus Bane and Alec Lightwood have had an exciting few years together. The Lost Book of the White had the couple, along with Jace, Clary, Simon and Izzy, narrowly escape with their lives. But, this story isn’t over and neither is Shinyun. She wants power and will be back. There’s no official release, but according to Goodreads, it’ll be in 2021.

5. The Box in the Woods by Maureen Johnson

52716736. sy475

We thought 2020 brought the end of the Truly, Devious series— but we were wrong! Johnson announced that there will be a fourth book in the series, set to take place after the events of book 3. Stevie Bell will investigate her first murder after solving the infamous Ellingham Academy murders and kidnapping. The book is expected for release on June 15.

6. You’ll Be The Death of Me by Karen McManus

McManus’s next book is promoted as YA murder mystery meets Ferris Buller’s Day Off. Three friends come together to skip school…and get involved in a crime in the process. We’re still waiting on a date in 2021!

7. Sunkissed by Kasie West

54456763

Avery’s having a tough time after her best friend betrayed her. To make it worse, her family drags her to a family summer camp. Add on a forbidden romance during a summer off the grid and Avery’s vacation is bound to be anything but boring. We’re pumped for May 4th so we can get another awesome YA romance from West.

8. Always Jane by Jenn Bennett

We love a good Jenn Bennett contemporary, so you all knew this would be on our list— even if details are lacking! There is no description or date up on Goodreads, but here is the description from Jenn’s website: “During a lake vacation, a teenage girl falls for a boy who mistakenly believes she’s the wealthy daughter of a reclusive California record producer…when she’s actually the daughter of the record producer’s chauffeur.” We’re already dying over the description. Jenn says the book is slated for release in Fall 2021. 

9. Good Girl, Bad Blood by Holly Jackson

51335759. sy475

Pippa solved the case of Andie Bell with the help of her now boyfriend Ravi in A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Since then, the two created a true crime podcast. Pippa has sworn off investigations, until someone she knows goes missing and the police won’t help. Good Girl, Bad Blood will be released on April 30th!

10. Better Together by Christine Riccio

50708360. sy475

Riccio’s second novel is pitched as Freaky Friday meets The Parent Trap. Jamie and Siri grew up on opposite coasts after their parents had a terrible divorce. The two happen to sign up for the same retreat in Colorado. Once they’re reunited, they create a plan to switch places and finally get to know the parent that didn’t grow up with. Riccio’s latest will be released on June 1st!

11. Down Comes the Night by Allison Saft

46189814

Down Comes the Night is definitely one of the most intriguing books on this list and will be released soon-ish, on March 2. The story is pitched as a gothic, romantic fantasy about two enemies who are trapped together inside a crumbling mansion.

12. My Contrary Mary by Cynthia Hand, Jodi Meadows and Brodi Ashton

43604047. sy475

We were big fans of the Lady Janies series. Meet the companion series about famous women named Mary! First up is Mary Queen of Scotts. We are super excited to see what spin the authors take on this historic figure. The first book in the series will be released on June 22.

13. The Serpent’s Curse by Lisa Maxwell

52755039. sy475

We originally thought that The Serpent’s Curse would be the final book in The Last Magician series, but Maxwell recently announced that there will be a fourth, to be released in 2022. We really enjoy this series and are excited to see what Este and Harte are up to in book 3 when it is released on April 13.

14. Take Me Home Tonight by Morgan Matson 

Morgan Matson writes some of the best YA romcoms, so we were thrilled to see she has another released next year! Take Me Home Tonight is described as Ferris Bueller meets Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist and follows two best friends, Kat and Stevie, who are set on having the perfect night out together in NYC before things go awry. This book is out on July 1!

15. Kingdom of the Cursed by Kerri Maniscalco 

This book has no description or release date yet, but we will read it regardless. We really enjoyed Kingdom of the Wicked and need to know what happens with Emilia and Wrath as they venture to Hell. We’re excited to see how their romance plays out!

16. Five Ways to Fall Out of Love by Emily Martin 

53176390

Five Ways to Fall Out of Love is pitched for fans of Jennifer E. Smith, Julie Buxbaum, and Sandhya Menon. It follows a girl named Aubrey who is determined to stay single after finding out the hard way not to rely on love. Except, she meets a boy named Webster who may change her plan. This romcom is out on March 16.

17. What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka 

44044099

We admit, we are entirely drawn to the covers of Wibberley and Siegmund-Broka’s books. They are always so gorgeous, and this book is no different. The book is pitched as “an academic enemies-to-lovers YA with all the nerdy drama, high school antics, and heart pounding romance of the Netflix original series Never Have I Ever.” Um, yes please! We are so excited to get our hands on this when it releases on April 20.

18. London Prep #4 by Jillian Dodd 

You all know we devoured the London Prep series this year. We literally binge read the first three in a couple of weeks. Book 3 left us on the edge of our seats and we need to know where our favorite love trio, Mallory, Harry and Noah, stands after that shocking ending. Book 4 doesn’t yet have a page on Goodreads but Dodd has said it is out in 2021.

23 thoughts on “Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

  1. I also have most of these on my watch list for 2021 (I think I have a similar taste as y’all). I hadn’t heard of the Westcott High books before this post, but it definitely sounds like a series I’d be interested in. Especially with comps to PLL and Gossip Girl.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Can’t wait for Gods and Monsters!! I have had Blood and Honey on my TBR for the longest time because I’m scared to be disappointed but I definitely can’t wait to see how it all ends!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s