Our Top Books of 2020

We had such a tough decision because we’ve read some great books in 2020. We differed a bit, so we both created lists for the top 10 books of 2020. However, we do overlap. 

What were your favorite books of the year? Let us know in the comments!

Christy’s Top 10

1. Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

17699853

Clare wrote the perfect start to her new shadowhunter series. I loved seeing Will, Tessa and Jem as adults. Plus, the next generation is just as exciting. Set in Edwardian London, James, Lucie, Matthew, Cordelia and their friends deal with demon attacks increase around the city. This book had everything: adventure, romance and mystery. Chain of Iron will hopefully be just as amazing in 2021. I need more Matthew Fairchild!

Continue reading “Our Top Books of 2020”

Review: My True Love Gave to Me by various authors

Amazon.com: My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories  (9781250059314): Perkins, Stephanie, Black, Holly, Carter, Ally, de la  Pena, Mathew, Forman, Gayle, Han, Jenny, Levithan, David, Link, Kelly,  McEntire, Myra, Rowell,

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! 12 YA authors came together and wrote short stories on Christmas, Hanukkah, New Year’s Eve and the Winter Solstice. Since this is a collection of short holiday stories, we are going to rate them. Overall, most of these stories are sweet and get you into the holiday spirit. 

Have you read this book? If you have, let us know your favorite stories in the comments.

Continue reading “Review: My True Love Gave to Me by various authors”

Review: The Brightest Night by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Brightest Night (Origin, #3) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The Brightest Night is the third installment in Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Origin series. The book picks up where we left off in The Burning Shadow, with Evie, Luc, and their friends arriving in Zone 3, the secret area home to unregistered Luxen, hybrids, and humans. The gang is on the run from Jason Dasher, who they thought was long dead, and Evie is dealing with her newfound Trojan powers, learning to control the Source. But with her newfound powers comes the realization that Evie is part of a larger plan put forth by the Daedalus. 

Continue reading “Review: The Brightest Night by Jennifer L. Armentrout”

Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

We’re so excited for all the amazing YA books coming out in 2021! Not every cover has been released yet, so we will update the post when more information is available. Let us know which books you’re most excited for!

1. Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare

17699855. sy475

Chain of Gold was easily our favorite read of 2020. We can’t wait for Lucie, James, Matthew, Cordelia and the rest of the gang to take on a killer and keep London safe. Chain of Iron promises to be exciting, romantic and full of plot twists. March 2nd can’t come soon enough!

Continue reading “Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021”

Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag

credit @ Reading On A Star  

1. Snow Day – What’s your “comfort” book? 

15283043

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. As our readers know, we love Kasie West books. The Distance Between Us is one of our favorites for its sweet romance. Cayman Myers and Xander Spence have adorable banter, but more importantly, they genuinely grow to care about one another as they tackle some heavy issues. West books always have the perfect blend of romance, humor, and something series, which is why we will always go back to them. 

Continue reading “Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag”

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”

December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me

20309175. sy475

The Book

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories released October 2014.

Why did we pick this book?

Our book club doesn’t meet in December, so we wanted to choose something to get us into the holiday spirit. This book features twelves short stories from various young adult authors. We plan to read this book and rank the short stories. Read cute holiday stories from Jenny Han, Ally Carter, David Levithan, Holly Black. Stephanie Perkins and more!

Even though we won’t have a virtual discussion, we’d love for other bloggers to read this with us. We want to see how other people rank the stories.

Continue reading “December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me”

Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Amazon.com: Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked (1))  (9780316428460): Maniscalco, Kerri: Books

Emilia and her twin sister, Vittoria, are streghe— witches who are forced to live secretly among humans in fear of persecution. Together with their family they run a famous restaurant nestled in Sicily. One night, Vittoria does not arrive for her shift at the restaurant, so Emilia sets off to look for her. She is led to the underbelly of the monastery by a strange sensation and sounds, where she finds the body of her twin, desecrated with her heart carved out. Vittoria and Emilia’s nonna has forbade them from using dark magic or seeking out the Wicked— the princes of Hell. But Emilia is out for blood and vengeance. 

Continue reading “Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco”

Thanksgiving Book Tag

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Feel free to do this tag and let us know your answers! We found it through Read by Tiffany.

1. Bread: What book is purely fluff and has no real plot line?

41473823. sy475

Maybe This Time by Kasie West. The book had no real plot in our opinion. We usually love West’s writing, but we couldn’t support Sophie and Andrew’s budding romance. Not much happened in the span of a year, where Sophie and Andrew spend all holidays together. While the premise had potential, the book fell flat. 

Continue reading “Thanksgiving Book Tag”