January 2021 Book Haul

Welcome to a new series on our blog, where we spill all of our recent book purchases. Claire is going to start us off with her latest purchases since Christy is in the midst of reading her Christmas presents and has been on a no-buy. 

Let’s get started!

I should start off by saying that a new year brings a new Goodreads goal, and I am determined to get to 50 books. I had to start off 2021 with a bang (sorry bank account!). So, what books have I bought so far this year? Keep on reading to gather some *bookspo* (book + inspo…ha..get it?). Moving on…

1. Killing November by Adriana Mather

35053980

Christy read Killing November and has been trying to get me to pull the trigger for months. Well, friends, January was the month I finally succumbed to the peer pressure. Here’s our full review of the book. I freaking LOVED it— the romance, the plot, the characters. EVERYTHING! The hype was real and I cannot wait to read book 2, which leads me to my next purchase…

Continue reading “January 2021 Book Haul”

2020 Blog and Reading Summary

Bye Bye stock photos and royalty-free images, vectors and illustrations |  Adobe Stock

Thank you to everyone who read our blog in 2020. It grew tremendously from 2019 and we couldn’t have done it without the amazing support from fellow bloggers, readers and writers. We hope to continue to grow in 2021 and someday self-host and monetize.

We can’t wait to continue sharing our favorite books with everyone in the new year! In the comments, let us know your favorite post of ours from 2020. It helps us know what content our readers enjoy. Stay safe and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

Continue reading “2020 Blog and Reading Summary”

Our Top Books of 2020

We had such a tough decision because we’ve read some great books in 2020. We differed a bit, so we both created lists for the top 10 books of 2020. However, we do overlap. 

What were your favorite books of the year? Let us know in the comments!

Christy’s Top 10

1. Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

17699853

Clare wrote the perfect start to her new shadowhunter series. I loved seeing Will, Tessa and Jem as adults. Plus, the next generation is just as exciting. Set in Edwardian London, James, Lucie, Matthew, Cordelia and their friends deal with demon attacks increase around the city. This book had everything: adventure, romance and mystery. Chain of Iron will hopefully be just as amazing in 2021. I need more Matthew Fairchild!

Continue reading “Our Top Books of 2020”

Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

We’re so excited for all the amazing YA books coming out in 2021! Not every cover has been released yet, so we will update the post when more information is available. Let us know which books you’re most excited for!

1. Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare

17699855. sy475

Chain of Gold was easily our favorite read of 2020. We can’t wait for Lucie, James, Matthew, Cordelia and the rest of the gang to take on a killer and keep London safe. Chain of Iron promises to be exciting, romantic and full of plot twists. March 2nd can’t come soon enough!

Continue reading “Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021”

Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag

credit @ Reading On A Star  

1. Snow Day – What’s your “comfort” book? 

15283043

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. As our readers know, we love Kasie West books. The Distance Between Us is one of our favorites for its sweet romance. Cayman Myers and Xander Spence have adorable banter, but more importantly, they genuinely grow to care about one another as they tackle some heavy issues. West books always have the perfect blend of romance, humor, and something series, which is why we will always go back to them. 

Continue reading “Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag”

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”

Thanksgiving Book Tag

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Feel free to do this tag and let us know your answers! We found it through Read by Tiffany.

1. Bread: What book is purely fluff and has no real plot line?

41473823. sy475

Maybe This Time by Kasie West. The book had no real plot in our opinion. We usually love West’s writing, but we couldn’t support Sophie and Andrew’s budding romance. Not much happened in the span of a year, where Sophie and Andrew spend all holidays together. While the premise had potential, the book fell flat. 

Continue reading “Thanksgiving Book Tag”

YA Authors: Who Have We Met?

We’ve been lucky! Between the two of us, we’ve met some of our favorite YA authors. We’ll add to this list as soon as we meet more. If you’re a YA author reading this, come visit the D.C. metro area!

1. Jennifer L. Armentrout

Amazon.com: The Darkest Star (Origin Series, 1) (9781250175731): Armentrout,  Jennifer L.: Books

Claire met JLA at her YA/NA event, Apollycon, in 2018! Claire has been a fan of Armentrout’s since 2012, so she fangirled hardcore when she finally got to meet her. Who wouldn’t want to meet the mind behind Aiden St. Delphi. Armentrout is as fabulous as she seems on social media— so fun and charming. Her event was amazing and we’d definitely love to go again post-COVID. She even brought in the actor that plays Seth in her promos. Claire took a pic with him and JLA— ha! 

Continue reading “YA Authors: Who Have We Met?”

YA City Guide: New York City

One thing we miss right now is travel. We’re both travel addicts and can’t wait to begin traveling across the U.S. again. Do you want to travel right now but can’t? We can help with book recommendations. The YA City Guide is a new feature on our blog to recommend books set in a certain city. If you haven’t already, check out our precious city guides for Paris and London. 

Our next YA City Guide is New York City! The city that never sleeps. The Big Apple. We admit, we became partly obsessed with NYC because of Gossip Girl. We used to dream of strolling the streets of the Upper East Side like Blair and Serena. Here are some of our favorite YA books set in NYC! 

1. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

Amazon.com: City of Bones (Mortal Instruments) (9781416914280): Clare,  Cassandra: Books

City of Bones is the first book in Clare’s The Mortal Instruments series. The book follows Clary Fairchild as she adapts to the shadowhunter world of NYC. TMI series is set in NYC circa 2008, so it’s a bit of a throwback. The book takes you around the city’s Burroughs, including Brooklyn, where the ever-charming Magnus serves as High Warlock. The Institute is on the Upper East Side and the book has the characters all over the island of Manhattan. In fact, the 10 year anniversary edition has a fantastic map to follow along.

Continue reading “YA City Guide: New York City”