Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

We’re so excited for all the amazing YA books coming out in 2021! Not every cover has been released yet, so we will update the post when more information is available. Let us know which books you’re most excited for!

1. Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare

17699855. sy475

Chain of Gold was easily our favorite read of 2020. We can’t wait for Lucie, James, Matthew, Cordelia and the rest of the gang to take on a killer and keep London safe. Chain of Iron promises to be exciting, romantic and full of plot twists. March 2nd can’t come soon enough!

Continue reading “Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021”

Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag

credit @ Reading On A Star  

1. Snow Day – What’s your “comfort” book? 

15283043

The Distance Between Us by Kasie West. As our readers know, we love Kasie West books. The Distance Between Us is one of our favorites for its sweet romance. Cayman Myers and Xander Spence have adorable banter, but more importantly, they genuinely grow to care about one another as they tackle some heavy issues. West books always have the perfect blend of romance, humor, and something series, which is why we will always go back to them. 

Continue reading “Baby It’s Cold Outside Book Tag”

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”

December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me

20309175. sy475

The Book

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories released October 2014.

Why did we pick this book?

Our book club doesn’t meet in December, so we wanted to choose something to get us into the holiday spirit. This book features twelves short stories from various young adult authors. We plan to read this book and rank the short stories. Read cute holiday stories from Jenny Han, Ally Carter, David Levithan, Holly Black. Stephanie Perkins and more!

Even though we won’t have a virtual discussion, we’d love for other bloggers to read this with us. We want to see how other people rank the stories.

Continue reading “December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me”

Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Amazon.com: Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked (1))  (9780316428460): Maniscalco, Kerri: Books

Emilia and her twin sister, Vittoria, are streghe— witches who are forced to live secretly among humans in fear of persecution. Together with their family they run a famous restaurant nestled in Sicily. One night, Vittoria does not arrive for her shift at the restaurant, so Emilia sets off to look for her. She is led to the underbelly of the monastery by a strange sensation and sounds, where she finds the body of her twin, desecrated with her heart carved out. Vittoria and Emilia’s nonna has forbade them from using dark magic or seeking out the Wicked— the princes of Hell. But Emilia is out for blood and vengeance. 

Continue reading “Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco”

Thanksgiving Book Tag

Happy Thanksgiving everyone! Feel free to do this tag and let us know your answers! We found it through Read by Tiffany.

1. Bread: What book is purely fluff and has no real plot line?

41473823. sy475

Maybe This Time by Kasie West. The book had no real plot in our opinion. We usually love West’s writing, but we couldn’t support Sophie and Andrew’s budding romance. Not much happened in the span of a year, where Sophie and Andrew spend all holidays together. While the premise had potential, the book fell flat. 

Continue reading “Thanksgiving Book Tag”

Review: Killing November by Adriana Mather

Amazon.com: Killing November (9780525579083): Mather, Adriana: Books

November Adley’s life changes instantly when she arrives at Academy Absconditi. 1) She has no idea where the school is located. 2) Instead of math and english, she’s enrolled in knife throwing, body language reading and accents. 3) The students are ruthless and competitive to the point where November fears her physical safety. 

Continue reading “Review: Killing November by Adriana Mather”

YA Authors: Who Have We Met?

We’ve been lucky! Between the two of us, we’ve met some of our favorite YA authors. We’ll add to this list as soon as we meet more. If you’re a YA author reading this, come visit the D.C. metro area!

1. Jennifer L. Armentrout

Amazon.com: The Darkest Star (Origin Series, 1) (9781250175731): Armentrout,  Jennifer L.: Books

Claire met JLA at her YA/NA event, Apollycon, in 2018! Claire has been a fan of Armentrout’s since 2012, so she fangirled hardcore when she finally got to meet her. Who wouldn’t want to meet the mind behind Aiden St. Delphi. Armentrout is as fabulous as she seems on social media— so fun and charming. Her event was amazing and we’d definitely love to go again post-COVID. She even brought in the actor that plays Seth in her promos. Claire took a pic with him and JLA— ha! 

Continue reading “YA Authors: Who Have We Met?”

Review: They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

Amazon.com: They Wish They Were Us (9780593114292): Goodman, Jessica: Books

Jill Newman attends an exclusive prep school on Long Island called Gold Coast Prep. On the outside, Jill’s life is perfect, but nothing is as it seems, especially since three years ago Jill’s best friend Shaila Arnold was killed by her boyfriend on the beach. Flash forward to her senior year, and Jill is living her best life as a member of her school’s not-so-secret society, The Players. She’s spent the last three years putting the past behind her. After all, Graham, Shaila’s boyfriend, confessed to the crime. Case closed, right? Wrong. When Jill begins receiving texts proclaiming Graham’s innocence, any chance of a perfect senior year falls through her fingertips. If Shaila’s case isn’t closed and Graham didn’t kill her, then who did? Jill is determined to find out before the killer claims her as their next victim.

Continue reading “Review: They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman”