Our Top Books of 2020

We had such a tough decision because we’ve read some great books in 2020. We differed a bit, so we both created lists for the top 10 books of 2020. However, we do overlap. 

What were your favorite books of the year? Let us know in the comments!

Christy’s Top 10

1. Chain of Gold by Cassandra Clare

17699853

Clare wrote the perfect start to her new shadowhunter series. I loved seeing Will, Tessa and Jem as adults. Plus, the next generation is just as exciting. Set in Edwardian London, James, Lucie, Matthew, Cordelia and their friends deal with demon attacks increase around the city. This book had everything: adventure, romance and mystery. Chain of Iron will hopefully be just as amazing in 2021. I need more Matthew Fairchild!

Continue reading “Our Top Books of 2020”

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”

Review: Love and Olives by Jenna Evans Welch

Amazon.com: Love & Olives eBook: Welch, Jenna Evans: Kindle Store

*We received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Liv Varanakis pretends to be something she’s not. She wants people to like her without knowing much about her life. After all, she pretends that her life in Seattle is perfect. She has her boyfriend Dax, his friends and a loving family.

Except, she hasn’t seen her dad since she was eight. He left to go back to his home country of Greece and find the lost city of Atlantis. When Liv was little, her dad loved to teach her about Greek mythology and how together they would use Plato’s clues to find Atlantis. 

Continue reading “Review: Love and Olives by Jenna Evans Welch”

September 2020 Reads

Here’s a list of books we plan to read during the month of September! Let us know in the comments below which books are on your TBR list for next month. We’re always looking for new recommendations. 

1. Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin

Amazon.com: Blood & Honey (Serpent & Dove Book 2) eBook: Mahurin, Shelby:  Kindle Store

Serpent & Dove was our favorite book of 2019! We’ve been dying to get our hands on the sequel. Good news friends: this book is out TOMORROW, September 1. Be sure to get your hands on it to catch up with Lou, Reid, and the rest of the crew as they’re on the run from the Dames Blanches and the chasseurs! We can’t wait to see what our favorite witch and witch hunter are up to in this installment. Fingers crossed for more swoon-worthy romance! 

Continue reading “September 2020 Reads”

TBR Book Challenge

We recently went through our TBR to decide what to read next. So, we decided to do a fun post featuring books we hope to read soon. Tell us what’s on your TBR!

1. Name the TBR book with the highest Goodreads rating!

The Cousins by Karen M. McManus

The Cousins by Karen McManus. This is the highest rated out of books already out and/or to be released in 2020. We didn’t consider any that will be published after 2021. This book is a mystery about three cousins who spend the summer with a grandmother they hardly know. McManus’s books are full of twists and turns! We cannot wait for December!

Continue reading “TBR Book Challenge”