Review: My True Love Gave to Me by various authors

Amazon.com: My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories  (9781250059314): Perkins, Stephanie, Black, Holly, Carter, Ally, de la  Pena, Mathew, Forman, Gayle, Han, Jenny, Levithan, David, Link, Kelly,  McEntire, Myra, Rowell,

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! 12 YA authors came together and wrote short stories on Christmas, Hanukkah, New Year’s Eve and the Winter Solstice. Since this is a collection of short holiday stories, we are going to rate them. Overall, most of these stories are sweet and get you into the holiday spirit. 

Have you read this book? If you have, let us know your favorite stories in the comments.

Continue reading “Review: My True Love Gave to Me by various authors”

Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021

We’re so excited for all the amazing YA books coming out in 2021! Not every cover has been released yet, so we will update the post when more information is available. Let us know which books you’re most excited for!

1. Chain of Iron by Cassandra Clare

17699855. sy475

Chain of Gold was easily our favorite read of 2020. We can’t wait for Lucie, James, Matthew, Cordelia and the rest of the gang to take on a killer and keep London safe. Chain of Iron promises to be exciting, romantic and full of plot twists. March 2nd can’t come soon enough!

Continue reading “Our Most Anticipated Books of 2021”

2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide

Ready for the holiday season? We are too! We created a list of books to inspire your gift giving…or to buy for yourself. Need more inspiration? Check out our 2019 gift guide.

Do you usually give books as presents? Let us know in the comments!

1. For Mystery Fans: Dare You to Lie by Amber Lynn Natusch

37534862

Dare You to Lie follows Kylene after he dad was wrongfully convicted of murder. She’s determined to clear his name. But first, she has to back to her old school and deal with a group of guys who ruined her life and reputation. Kylene is a total badass and she uncovers some dark secrets in her small Ohio town. This book is perfect for fans of Karen McManus and Holly Jackson.

Continue reading “2020 YA Holiday Gift Guide”

December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me

20309175. sy475

The Book

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories released October 2014.

Why did we pick this book?

Our book club doesn’t meet in December, so we wanted to choose something to get us into the holiday spirit. This book features twelves short stories from various young adult authors. We plan to read this book and rank the short stories. Read cute holiday stories from Jenny Han, Ally Carter, David Levithan, Holly Black. Stephanie Perkins and more!

Even though we won’t have a virtual discussion, we’d love for other bloggers to read this with us. We want to see how other people rank the stories.

Continue reading “December 2020 Book Club: My True Love Gave to Me”

Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco

Amazon.com: Kingdom of the Wicked (Kingdom of the Wicked (1))  (9780316428460): Maniscalco, Kerri: Books

Emilia and her twin sister, Vittoria, are streghe— witches who are forced to live secretly among humans in fear of persecution. Together with their family they run a famous restaurant nestled in Sicily. One night, Vittoria does not arrive for her shift at the restaurant, so Emilia sets off to look for her. She is led to the underbelly of the monastery by a strange sensation and sounds, where she finds the body of her twin, desecrated with her heart carved out. Vittoria and Emilia’s nonna has forbade them from using dark magic or seeking out the Wicked— the princes of Hell. But Emilia is out for blood and vengeance. 

Continue reading “Review: Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco”

Review: London Prep series by Jillian Dodd

We came across this series on Instagram and knew we had to read it. It literally screamed YA Netflix show and gave us Gossip Girl vibes…but British. We love the series’ Instagram. It’s got killer promotional pics and we love seeing the actors in their characters. It helped us visualize the characters and made us love them even more. Now, onto the review! 

London Prep 1

London Prep (London Prep, #1) by Jillian Dodd

Mallory James is beyond pissed at her parents when they drop a bombshell on her: she’s being sent to London for a three week exchange during her Junior year. Mallory’s been to London already– it’s stuffy, rainy, and boring. What more is there to see? Her parents don’t seem to grasp what an utter nightmare this will be for Mallory’s perfect New York lifestyle. When her parents refuse to budge, she decides that if she’s going to be stuck across the Pond for three weeks, she may as well have fun and let loose. 

Continue reading “Review: London Prep series by Jillian Dodd”

Then and Now: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red (The Ruby Red Trilogy (1)): Gier, Kerstin, Bell, Anthea:  9780312551513: Amazon.com: Books

Ruby Red is the first installment in the three-book Ruby Red series by German author, Kerstin Gier. The series was such a success in Germany that it was immediately translated to English, becoming an international hit in the mid-2000’s. Fun fact: there was also a German movie adaption! We’ve been meaning to get our hands on it (with English dubbing or subtitles). If you’ve read the series or seen the movie, let us know down below. 

Claire first read the series in high school circa 2013 and Christy read them around then too! We were immediately intrigued by the time travel concept. The series follows British teen, Gwyneth, who (unexpectedly) has the gene for time travel. 

Continue reading “Then and Now: Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier”

Blog Tour: Recommended For You by Laura Silverman

*We received this book in exchange for an honest review.*

Shoshana Greenburg loves three things more than anything: her family, her friends and books!  Over winter break, she spends all her free time working at an independent bookstore, Once Upon.  

But when Jake Kaplan starts working there, Shoshana and him clash immediately. He doesn’t read, yet he works at a bookstore and he’s totally obnoxious. To top it all off, her mom’s have been fighting more than usual and her car, Barbra Streisand, broke down. Shoshana needs to come up with the money for repairs. 

Continue reading “Blog Tour: Recommended For You by Laura Silverman”

September 2020 Reads

Here’s a list of books we plan to read during the month of September! Let us know in the comments below which books are on your TBR list for next month. We’re always looking for new recommendations. 

1. Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin

Amazon.com: Blood & Honey (Serpent & Dove Book 2) eBook: Mahurin, Shelby:  Kindle Store

Serpent & Dove was our favorite book of 2019! We’ve been dying to get our hands on the sequel. Good news friends: this book is out TOMORROW, September 1. Be sure to get your hands on it to catch up with Lou, Reid, and the rest of the crew as they’re on the run from the Dames Blanches and the chasseurs! We can’t wait to see what our favorite witch and witch hunter are up to in this installment. Fingers crossed for more swoon-worthy romance! 

Continue reading “September 2020 Reads”